Running 10k

My buddies and I had planned to run 10 miles today. Men and Plans. Bah. It didn’t work out.

One of them got injured and the other got a last minute invite for a weekend stay at Payson, AZ. So, I ran alone and for reasons explained below I ran only 10k. Barely.

To run, I need the following three ingredients

  1. Fitness
  2. Focus
  3. Rhythm

Fitness means that i need to be able to walk and run. 100% fitness is ideal, and is not very practical. Sore feet, aching muscles, and a few cuts and bruises here and there are normal. The idea is to get out there and have a good time. If I’m not having a good time, I would rather stay at home.

Focus is very important while running on pavements. Focus not only keeps me out of sly potholes, crazy drivers and treacherous glass pieces, but it also helps me stay in the present.

Rhythm is the process of being aware of each step and running to an internal beat.

Today, none of the above were working in my favor. My sole was hurting and i wasn’t in the mood to run. I wasn’t able to focus and I had to stop for walks along the way.I managed to squeeze  out 10k, but things could have been better.

Next Saturday, I want to run 10 miles at a stretch. Let’s see.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

